Question

Data Roaming Fair Use Policy in France (I'm a student)

• 19 December 2022
  • 6 replies

Hi, I am a student studying in France with an unlimited data use, 12 month plan, paying £15/month. I’ve just received a text informing me of excessive roaming data usage. I have been in France for 3 months. I am back in the UK for Christmas but will be returning to France in mid January. The ID fair usage policy says that as long as I can show strong links with the UK, (bank statement or bill), all will be OK. My question is, how and who do I send this evidence to to prove these strong ties to the UK, before I get hit with a big bill? I expect to be back and forth between UK and France until Summer 2025. Thanks

This topic has been closed for comments

6 replies

Userlevel 8
Badge +9

Your inclusive roaming data allowance is 11.58GB/month.

If you’re abroad, in an inclusive roaming destination, for an extended period you run the risk of being caught out by the iD Mobile fair usage policy, which implies that in any given 4-month period, you’ll need to use your handset in the UK, more than you use it abroad.

Good luck @stirlingt1965

Userlevel 7
Badge +7

Hi @stirlingt1965,

Welcome to the Community!

I hope the information @andewhite has provided is helpful and answers your query.

If you require further assistance, please let us know here and we can help you out.

Kash

Kash, @andewhite , sorry I’m not sure the question was answered. I am aware of the fair use policy and its contents. My question was really asking who I need to send evidence of my close ties to the UK to, i.e. a bank statement. In doing so, my understanding is that any surcharges will be waved. I would like to get this all in place before I get a big unexpected bill.

Userlevel 8
Badge +9

Not sure to whom and how you’d submit your proof of strong ties to UK @stirlingt1965.