Question

Your Network Coverage is abysmal in Central London

• 15 February 2023
  • 13 replies

Having only praised ID Mobile for the speed and ease of porting my mobile number from EE to ID, today I’m having serious concerns about what I’ve done.

I work in the entertainment industry and need my phone to work in and around Central London. Today is the first day I have been in London since changing to ID and I have to say I have serious concerns about the effectiveness of your service.

In Covent Garden I was unable to access any apps or services simply because the signal strength was so poor. At best I was getting 1 and at a push 2 bars of signal strength and only on a 4G signal. Being unable to access apps or data and even receive phone calls in this area is a big no no.

I have a 5G enabled phone and whilst the signal is strong where I live, being mobile means that such a service should be consistent across the board. Also when I’m in doors I use my home wi fi service so signal strength isn’t an issue and nor should it be an issue when I am in the capital City!

At best I managed a 4G service and even this would revert to 3G, where is the 5G service promised?

If this happens again I strongly suspect that that I will need to leave you whilst I’m still within my 14 day period.

Are there any guarntees offered as to consistency of service in central London, if not - goodbye?!

This topic has been closed for comments

13 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +1

Hello Spotlight61, welcome to the community.

I am very sorry to hear this, and it is quite strange in Central London. Had you tried a reboot at all? Often if the network is busy, especially in a built up area, a reboot will refresh your connection. 

Rebooted - twice and still an embarrassing failure.