Skip to main content
Active Contributor
May 8, 2026
Question

Can I cancel a roaming add on which I add to the wrong plan

  • May 8, 2026
  • 3 replies
  • 44 views

Hi, I have a number of iD mobile plans under the same account and this morning I managed to add a roaming add on to the wrong plan.

Can I cancel it under the distance selling regs and get a partial refund as it is unused obviously?

    3 replies

    Gemma M
    iD Mobile Employee
    iD Mobile Employee
    May 8, 2026

    Hi ​@perinok,

     

    Thanks for getting in touch.

     

    We’re afraid that once a roaming add-on has been purchased, it can’t be cancelled or refunded, even if it hasn’t been used. This is because add-ons are classed as digital services that begin immediately once added to the account, so they aren’t covered under distance selling cancellation rights.

     

    You can still use the roaming add-on on the line it was purchased for until it expires, based on the terms of the add-on selected.

     

    I am so sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. 

     

    Regards,

     

    Gemma M

    The iD Mobile Social Media Team

    Did my comment help answer your question? If so, don't forget to mark the response as the Most Helpful Answer.
    perinokAuthor
    Active Contributor
    May 8, 2026

    I have raised a complaint as there in nothing on the app at the point of service that states what you have written here ie evidence that I expressly acknowledged I would lose my cancellation right.

    There also seems to be little evidence of how the add-on was fully performed, or why the full charge is proportionate, given it was applied to the wrong plan and was not used for roaming on that plan.

    Dependant on the outcome of the complaint, I will refer this to the Communications ombusman.

    iD Mobile Employee
    May 8, 2026

    Hi ​@perinok.

     

    Thanks for your post. I’m sorry you feel this has not been handled as expected.

     

    We do appreciate your reference to the Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013. However, please note that our add-ons are classified as digital services that are activated immediately upon purchase, and this is clearly set out in our Terms and Conditions. Once activated, the add-on is delivered in full and therefore cannot be cancelled, refunded, or transferred.

     

    As the service is made available instantly, it is treated as fully performed upon activation, regardless of subsequent usage.

     

    We understand you have raised a complaint, and this will be reviewed through our formal complaints process. If, after this, you remain dissatisfied, you are of course entitled to refer the matter to the relevant Ombudsman service for further independent review.

     

    Thanks,

    Marquerita

    The iD Mobile Team

    Did my comment help answer your question? If so, don't forget to mark the response as the Most Helpful Answer.